atouchofyellowinnyc

This is HUGE (at least for me…)

In historic places, NYC History, nyc photographer, NYC Today on September 11, 2013 at 8:22 pm

Over the past few years I have volunteered at ICP. I find teaching teenagers through the Teen Academy program most interesting-these young people continue to amaze me with their creativity.

060113 TA FieTrp HiLine110

As my relationship with the school grows, the continued networking with the educational staff stretches me artistically demanding a higher level of performance as a photographer.

On August 8, 2013 I received an email from the Coordinator of Community Programs at ICP regarding an exhibit that would coincide with the anniversary of Hurricane Sandy. The Museum of the City of New York (MCNY) would be pulling images exclusively from open calls for this show; they extended the offering to the ICP educational staff. Since I had images from the storm, I submitted to the call with no expectations. [I have submitted too many times to count to a variety of shows in the past and been “kindly” turned down, but continued with optimism that this time would be different…]

On August 16 I received an email with the subject Hurricane Sandy Exhibition. As I read the first line in the email, I expected a familiar response just like before. Basically “thanks for submitting, but no thanks…”

Instead this is what it said:

Thank you so much for submitting photographs of Hurricane Sandy in response to the Museum of the City of New York’s open call. I am writing to inform you that your work has been selected for a special preview exhibition, Rising Waters: Photographs of Hurricane Sandy, which opens on Governors Island on August 24th.

I was not expecting this. As the words processed in my brain, there were multiple emotions rising to the surface. I couldn’t help laughing, and then I couldn’t help crying. I kept moving around my apartment shouting and balling-my dog Kodi didn’t know what to do.

The joy and relief that if you keep persevering eventually a dream will come true. These few positive words launched a release of emotions that have been building for years-it was exhilarating!!

Saturday I visited the exhibit on Governors Island. It blew me away. Having lived through the storm, photographs of areas hit much harder than my part of town moved me in a way that can only be experienced first hand. The tragedy and the optimism-the human spirit that keeps moving forward.

I saw for the first time in my photography career my name and work projected on a wall over 8 feet tall. That made this all real.

The exhibit RISING WATERS: Images of Hurricane Sandy is on display through September 29, 2013. Please join me at the closing reception September 22, 1-4:00pm. You will be very happy you did.

Until next time.

Teresa, 51art

adventure is life, live it! ®

  1. Wow, Teresa, that is truly wonderful! I’m so happy for you. There is just nothing like that first time having your work recognized for the excellent gift that it is and getting to watch other people as they get their first opportunity to see it and participate in it. Congratulations! I hope this is just the first trickle in a deluge of successful events like this for you.

Leave a comment