atouchofyellowinnyc

Fort Tilden Part Three: Views from the Tower

In historic places, NYC History, nyc photographer, NYC Today on April 4, 2014 at 8:48 pm

When I encounter something never seen before, I become a little unsettled.  I think that is true for most people.  Questions that came to mind quickly were: what the heck was this thing and what hid behind its walls?  (see prior post.)  Further research shows this is actually Battery Harris, a gun battery used during the war/s.

092913 Fort Tilden Rocka314

 

As I approached the stairs, a man was climbing down from the tower, so I stepped aside to let him pass.  I wanted this space all to myself.

WOW.  Incredible.  To the East was Long Island.  To the South the Atlantic.  To the West New York Harbor and New Jersey.  To the North Coney Island and Manhattan.  And directly below, 173 feet below, dunes and natural vegetation.

I stayed up here for about 30 minutes.  A cruise ship was leaving the harbor.  Tankers were waiting at anchorage.  Pleasure boats were cruising in and out of Jamaica Bay.  And I had this place all to myself.

092913 Fort Tilden Rocka337

At some point a father and son started the journey up the steps and I used this as my cue to head out.  Plus I needed to get those other shots before the sun finally set.  And my bravery was starting to waver just a bit…

THIS IS NEW YORK CITY.  crazy!

Until next time.

Teresa51art

adventure is life, live it! ®

 

  1. So has most of this been off-limits for years, or just after there was so much damage from the hurricane?

Leave a Reply

