atouchofyellowinnyc

Fort Tilden Part Four: The Return to Civilization

In historic places, NYC History, nyc photographer, NYC Today on April 4, 2014 at 9:07 pm

As I walked back to my starting point, all I could hear was gravel crunching under my feet. It was completely quiet.  I stopped to reload film one more time so I was ready to shoot the 2 buildings passed on the way to the tower.

092913 Fort Tilden Rocka374_1

The first was hidden in vines and brush.  Somehow the graffiti artists were able to get deep inside this broken down structure.  I wonder how long ago….
(These buildings were used for magazines when originally constructed.)

092913 Fort Tilden Rocka375_1

The second was a little more accessible,  just needed to navigate overgrowth, rocks and branches.092913 Fort Tilden Rocka381_1

When I poked my head into the empty space I was transformed by what I saw.

Overhead the roof was all but gone.  Underfoot the floor was dirt and weeds.  And the block walls were covered with graffiti.  It was beautiful.  Man and nature were collaborating in a true work of art.

Until next time.

Teresa51art

adventure is life, live it! ®

 

Leave a Reply

