atouchofyellowinnyc

Part 2: The Elephants Come to Town

In NYC Today on March 26, 2010 at 1:19 pm

There is a movie called “The Paper” which reminds me of what I experienced this past Monday night while shooting the elephant walk.

The movie is about a typical/hectic day at a New York City newspaper.  Michael Keaton, Marisa Tomei, Glenn Close, Robert Duvall are a few actors in this film.  It’s a crazy story, very energized, very funny.  Mainly, there is a battle between two editors vying for a front page story-one wants to go for sensationalism the other wants to run a correct story.

The only staff photographer available to shoot the art for the front page is very new, very green.  She is sent out into the jungle where the seasoned press photographers know how to maneuver for a great shot in less than ideal circumstances.

The exciting part for me is that after she is elbowed and knocked down, she still manages to shoot the action.  When she gets back to the paper and develops the negatives, what she has is a great shot.  She got it!

In my previous entry I mentioned I had two camera’s with me on this rainy Monday night, the night the elephants came to town.  You saw what I was able to capture digitally in The Elephants Come to Town (part 1).  I was hopeful camera 2 (b&w film) would deliver me the shot I really wanted.  When I saw my negatives today I felt like the young photographer in this movie.  I was hopeful that one image on that roll of film would be of the circus elephants.  And there it was, the lead elephant of the procession as it walked into Manhattan.

I GOT the SHOT!

Enjoy.  Until next time!

Teresa, 51art

adventure is life, live it! ®

Leave a Reply

